With trumpet, clarinet and trombone in the melody section and banjo and sousaphone in the rhythm section a typical sound is created, tied with a stylistic pure performance of solo and tutti improvisations. In regards of the Jazz history mainly oriented at the New-Orleans-Jazz, the band also plays the good old Chicago-Dixieland, thus extended by polyphonic singing.

Several gigs in TV, the participation at the International Dresden Dixieland Festival in 1974 and 1980, the teamwork together with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Jena and Stendal as well as international concerts in the Czech Republic and Georgia have been the musical heights before the wall came down.

During the following years the band took the audience by storm during lots of concerts in all parts of Germany, especially in the various Jazzclubs. Additionally in the beginning of 1996 the band took part in a TV show from MdR.

The Old Time Memory Jazzband has been found in 1962 by students at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität in Jena and is since then a popular and well known Jazzband all over Germany and especially in Thuringia.

In spite of a radical personal rejuvenation the musicians still stick to the same style of Jazz, the two-beat-Jazz, as done first of all by Louis Armstrong during the twenties.
weiter
forward

Mit Trompete, Klarinette und Posaune in der Melodiegruppe, sowie Banjo und Sousaphon in der Rhythmusgruppe entsteht ein typisches eigenes Klangbild bei stilistisch reiner Darbietung von Kollektiv- und Soloimprovisationen. Musikhistorisch vor allem am New-Orleans-Jazz orientiert, spielt die Band aber auch den guten alten Chicago-Dixieland, zur klanglichen Erweiterung auch mit mehrstimmigem Gesang.

Mehrere Fernsehauftritte, die Teilnahme am "Internationalen Dixielandfestival Dresden" 1974 und 1980, die Zusammenarbeit mit der Jenaer und Stendaler Philharmonie sowie internationale Auftritte in Tschechien und in Georgien waren vor dem Mauerfall einige der musikalischen Höhepunkte der Band.

In den Jahren danach konnte die Gruppe bei vielen Auftritten in allen Teilen Deutschlands, besonders in den verschiedensten Jazzclubs, die Herzen der Zuhörer erobern, Anfang des Jahres 1996 gab es eine Fernsehaufnahme im MdR.

Die Old Time Memory Jazzband wurde 1962 von Studenten der Friedrich-Schiller-Univer-sität Jena gegründet und ist eine seit langer Zeit in ganz Deutschland, und besonders im Thüringer Raum, bekannte
und beliebte Band.

Trotz starker personeller Verjüngung haben sich die Musiker doch immer an die gleiche Stilistik, den Two-beat-Jazz, wie er vor allem von Louis Armstrong in den 20er Jahren gespielt wurde, gehalten.
weiter
weiter